And further.. You can’t do Code Metrics in Visual Studio Team System Database Edition. Ridiculous!

So, I received some encouraging words from Mark Groves, the Program Manager for VSTS saying that UML is back in VSTS 2010.  See the comments on my previous post.  Thanks Mark.

That’s good.  A little late for me, but better than the alternative.

My latest frustration (Sorry Mark) is that there is an arbitrary limitation in VSTS Database Edition, namely that I can’t run Code Metrics on the code I can write in the tool. 

Ridiculous.

Apparently, to do that, I’d have to have VSTS Developer Edition installed – which I did, but installed the DB Edition for the database schema management functionality.

Annoying.

I know what the answer is though.  Get the VSTS Team Suite which has everything.

This is a poor answer because of the cost involved.  We have a team where we are trying to instill agile techniques and engineering practices.  That means everyone on the team does a little bit of everything, and common code ownership is what we’re after along with test driven development, et al.  Code includes database schemata too, by-the-way.

It doesn’t work well if the team has to be compartmentalized into a few Database Edition users, a few Development Edition users, and a few Architecture Edition users.  Maybe if there was a rotating license concept so that today, I’m working on Database issues but tomorrow I’m writing code like a fiend in the Development Edition; and the following day we’re collaboratively working on Modeling across the team.

Expecting development teams to absorb the cost of VSTS Team Suite in this economy is unrealistic and it’s driving us to look for alternatives.

I’m working up a list of .NET open source tools for the Bank in my capacity as a .NET Center of Excellence leadership team member.  This is a result of my cross-pollinating with the Application Lifecycle Management Center of Excellence, the Free and Open Source Software Center of Excellence and the Agile Users Forum.

Yeah, I’m busy.

So, if you have suggestions for Windows-based open source or inexpensive commercial best-of-breed solutions for .NET development by all means, let me know.  By-the-way, most of the tools have to be command line accessible to support Continuous Integration.  We are using JetBrains’ TeamCity in a pilot/proof-of-concept and it’s great.

Here’s a list of the tools I think I need.  Suggest others if you know of them:

  • Build Scripting: Currently using NAnt, but being encouraged to use MSBuild (which itself sucks, imho.  A poor man’s NAnt – probably not enough exposure)
  • Unit Testing Framework: Currently using xUnit.net
  • Code Coverage: Currently using the last open source version of NCover.
  • Cyclomatic Complexity: Open
  • Refactoring IDE Support: Currently using JetBrains ReSharper

I’m starting to consider looking at SharpDevelop as an IDE, but I’d lose ReSharper.  That’s a tough one.  Another possibility is Eclipse if someone could create decent C# support.

I love the .NET framework, and generally I’m a fan of Microsoft products.  Hell, I’m using Live Writer to write this post.

But I’m getting tired of the splintering of products in order to pry an extra couple thousand dollars out of us.  In our case, that’s a per developer cost.  

That’s a lot of dough.

It’s no secret that we’re being asked to look for ways to be more efficient and lower costs.  Open Source is getting a close look at the highest levels.

Can you say Mono?

One thought on “And further.. You can’t do Code Metrics in Visual Studio Team System Database Edition. Ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

